Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    janet
    Participant

When I create a child theme with this plug-in, I get a message that says the child theme is broken. Could you help me?
    (I am an absolute tech ignorant so any step-by-step for dummies instructions would be appreciated.) Your plug-in is well reviewed so I would rather use it than another.
    -Janet

Slavi Marinov
    Keymaster

Hi Janet,

Oh, No! :(

Ok. What WordPress version are you running?
    The version info is usually available after you login into WordPress admin and then scroll down and should be available in the bottom right corner.

gardegeo
    Participant

Hello Slavi,

I just tried the Orbisius Child Theme Creator @ wp 3.6 with Slider theme but unfortunately I lost the social icons at the bottom.
    Any suggestions? or should I wait for the upgrade?

Thank you,
    George

Slavi Marinov
    Keymaster

Hmm, interesting.

Did you customize the footer.php of the child theme?
    If so, did you keep do_action(‘wp_footer’) (if any) ?
    A lot of plugins rely on that action to be called.

gardegeo
    Participant

Thank you for the fast reply,
    I have made no customizations. I installed the Child Theme Creator to a clean wp 3.6 installation

Slavi Marinov
    Keymaster

George, can you go in Appearance and Widgets?
    Sometimes when switching themes the original widgets don’t get transferred.
    They stay as Inactive widgets or something like that.

gardegeo
    Participant

I just figured out the solution: I copied (duplicate) the images folder to the child theme folder. It works. Thank you again for your help.

gardegeo
    Participant

PS: The same solution for the js folder for broken javascipt (duplicate the js folder to the child theme folder)
    PS2: Maybe I should have start a new topic. If you think is better please move this conversation to a new topic.

Slavi Marinov
    Keymaster

George, I am glad you’ve figured it out.